Dunmore Caves 2/3 miles north discovered in 928AD. darkest caves in Ireland.
Kilkenny Castle 2 miles. Kilkenny Golf Club 1 mile, Castlecomer Golf Club 6 miles.
Jenkinstown woods only 2 miles which boasts 5/6 miles of woodland walkways.
superb castle is located on elevated ground beside the river at the south-eastern
end of the city. The castle was built in the thirteenth century on the site of
an earlier fort. However, the present building is vastly different from the stronghold
erected by Strongbow in the middle ages. Despite this, the present structure retains
the architectural lines of a medieval castle. The building forms three sides of
a quadrangle, with three of the four original round towers intact. The Butlers,
the Earls of Ormonde (an Hibernicised Norman clan), occupied the castle from the
fourteenth century onwards. In modern times, the castle has been restored to its
former glory by the state, and was officially open to the public in 1976. There
is an exhibition hall open to the public in the Old Castle Stables.
Canice's was erected in the thirteenth century, and is accessible from Irishtown
via St. Canice's Steps. The cathedral features a magnificent tower that offers
impressive views of the city. The cathedral evolved over the centuries and was
unfortunately damaged by Oliver Cromwell's troops in the seventeenth century.
This Kilkenny landmark features a fascinating collection of monuments and tombs
dating from the Tudor era.
Marshall (Earl of Pembroke) founded the Black Abbey in 1225 for the Dominicans.
This impressive building is situated on Abbey Street, and features a tower and
some magnificent windows dating from the original the original structure. The
Dominican abbey was dissolved in the sixteenth century and subsequently became
a courthouse. Fortunately, the abbey was restored to its former glory in the nineteenth
century enabling it to be reopened as a church. At the Abbey entrance, one can
find a series of monumental slabs and stone coffins dating from the middle ages.
National Crafts Gallery is located in Castle Yard directly across from Kilkenny
Castle. This gallery was initiated by the Crafts Council of Ireland with the objective
of stimulating an innovative and quality design ethos in the Irish crafts sector.
The gallery boasts an impressive range of craft exhibitions that successfully
communicate and showcase the cultural and commercial attributes of the craft sector
SHEE ALMS HOUSE
Alms House is situated in Rose Inn Street and was founded in 1582 by Sir Richard
Shee. The purpose of these institutions was to take care of the poor, and this
Tudor Alms House is one of the last remaining buildings of its type still in existence
in Ireland. The building has been recently restored and now accommodates the Kilkenny
magnificent sixteenth century Tudor town house is situated on Parliament Street.
Built in 1594 by John Rothe, the building consists of three houses with courtyards.
Rothe House currently houses the museum and library of the Kilkenny Archaeological
Within the museum there are a number of exhibits including period
costume displays and a genealogical centre.
central Kilkenny landmark dates from 1761. Erected by Alderman William Colles,
the Thosel served as the market for the city (the word 'thosel' means literally
a marketplace). Architecturally, the building has a double length arcade with
an impressive Georgian Council Chamber room positioned above the arcade. There
is a clock tower on the steeply pitched roof, and the southern wall contains the
Kilkenny coat of arms. The original building was badly damaged after a fire in
1987, but has since been completely restored, and now serves as the City Hall.
Nearby Attractions - Kilkenny County
County and surrounding areas.
Show Cave and exhibition centre. Admission is by guided tour only. Open 7 days
a week until 31st Oct. with tours commencing at 9.30am. During winter months tours
only on Saturdays, Sundays and Bank Holidays or by appointment.
Forest Park is associated with the Thomas Moore melody "The Last Rose of
Summer". There is a deer park, developed walks of varying length as wellas
an estate and farm buildings which add interest to the park.
Fauna: Fox, badger, stoat, red and grey squirrel and deer in the enclosure
species of birds inhabit this wood including the pheasant, raven and long-eared
owl and there are bats in the old church.
Flora: Main Tree Species:
Beech, ash, oak and Norway spruce. Some original park trees from the 1870s survive
and include a number of rare species such as the Chinese necklace poplar.
Flora: A feature of this site is the beech wood with a carpet of bluebells during
mid to late April.
Priory founded in 1193. Adjacent is an old mill recently restored with original
features and structures open as a visitor centre and crafted area. Round Tower
originally protected a wooden church. The Celtic cross dates from the 9th century
and stands over the burial site of Niall Caille, High King of Ireland.
C. finest Cistercian monastic ruins. Visitor and exhibition centre. The abbey
was built around 1160 by the King of Ossory, Donal MacGillapatrick, for the Benedictine
monks. In 1180 it was taken over by Cistercian monks from Baltinglass Abbey. The
Cistercian order was founded in 1098 in Citeaux. In 1228 there were 36 monks and
50 brothers in the abbey.The monastery was self-contained, and included its own
gardens, watermills, infirmary, cemetery, kitchens, granary, stables and other
At the time of the dissolution of the monasteries in 1540
the abbey was granted on lease to James, the Earl of Ormond by the English crown.
The lease included some 6,000 hectares of land belonging to the Abbey, watermills,
cottages, weirs, fisheries and a castle
Glen and Waterfall
Romantic Era Garden, complete with Waterfall and Cottage Orné. A member
of Houses, Castles and Gardens of Ireland Opening Hours: Sundays, 2 to 6, from
the beginning of April to the end of September. During July and August, the garden
is open every day from 11am to 6pm.
Lory Meagher Homestead A 17th century thatched mansion recreated as it was
the turn of this century. The Kilkenny GAA Exhibition centre and museum.
Gardens are located in the south east of Kilkenny just outside the picturesque
village of Inistioge. The gardens, overlooking the River Nore Valley, offer the
visitor a wide variety of attractions and are a most relaxing and beautiful environment
in which to spend a day. The gardens are currently undergoing restoration by Kilkenny
County Council and further features and planting are being added all the time.
main development of Woodstock Gardens occurred in the Victorian Period with the
works being overseen by Lady Louisa Tighe nee Lennox and head gardeners, Pierce
Butler and later Charles McDonald. The gardens are being restored to the period
1840 -1890 with every effort being made to use plants and materials typical of
has always been known as the centre of the Leinster Coalfield and provides the
natural gateway to discovering the region. The interpretative centre will use
exciting multi-media techniques to present the rocks as a vivid document of the
past, and in particular the fossils, brought to light by the miners of Castlecomer,
which have made such an important contribution to mankind's knowledge of the first
creatures to set foot on dry land.
A gift shop and café will provide
an opportunity for the visitor to sample the Irish hospitality and relax in contemporary
style surroundings. The visitor will be encouraged to explore Castlecomer Demesne
and experience the dynamic landscape aided by interpreted and designed walks.